The Mass(hold): Massachusets Conference

‘Ello Darlings!

Currently Wearing: Fallon Faux Fur Sweater from Brandy Melville, Isabel Marant Kyle Pleated Point d’esprit Sat Skirt, and Hunter Rainboots in Black and Gold Camo. My hair is ruffled and volumized to the side in a messy bun. I’ve also on a few jangly Tiffany bracelets and a Michael Kors watch.

Currently Listening To: Now Your Gone by Bass Hunter

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 10.26.17 PM

I realized that it’s high time I write a post. Lately I just haven’t had much to talk about, so I didn’t feel it was entirely necessary to write about next to nothing. However, recent events have been almost of the exciting sort, therefore I sit down to write. This weekend I did go to conference after all. It was a blast! Massachusets is a long ride. As I beforementioned, parents were worried it was going to be treacherous because of the ice, but it turned out just fine in the end. On the car ride there, we did several things. We attempted to look at scenery as we traveled. V and I listened through her playlist. She kept skipping songs I liked, but then finally found a song that we both love. Therefore, our official song is Finally Found You by Enrique Inglesias. It was so sweet, we were basically singing it to each other. I still hear the lyrics in my head… wonderful stuff.

So basically we spent the car ride singing. I wanted to borrow some fancy car from a friend and have somebody drive it for us, maybe L. Perhaps if we had gone in Il’s car, I would’ve felt more classy. As it was, his Mercedez was occupied by ‘the other group’ in our church. I and S and P and K and Il were all in that one, and we were stuck with a large, obnoxious, white borrowed van. At least there was plenty of space.

709

We arrived at the conference fairly late. Poor S was unfortunate enough to have to wait for us. Although I don’t believe her to be extroardinarily unfortunate, since she got to do it with Pash and George. They are two adorable boys. Pash is dark haired and generally just very sweet. George is this annoying smirker with crazy hair he must spend a million hours styling every day. However, they are pretty great conversationalists, and we enjoyed chilling with them as we waited for S’s Dad to arrive and pick us up.

S’s house is a neat place way up in the mountains. It was absolutely beautiful and breathtaking driving up to it. I enjoyed attempting to sleep there. The food was good. That’s really all I can say, since V kept me and S up till the breaking hours of dawn. At that time, we got up, showered, curled our hair, put on our fabulous four-inch J LO heels, and ran for the door.

Arriving at conferences early is always a necessary endeavor. Finding seats is a crazy mess. Thankfully we were able to save enough seats for ourselves as well as Pash and George and a friend of theirs. Sitting in church all day wasn’t fun, but I’m not complaining. I got up several times to take breaks. In addition to that, we had several delicious meals (of which I ate little, due to my nervousness of eating in front of guys). However, the food was food, and so was the socialization.

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 4.41.18 PM

That evening, however, was an entirely different matter. We had an absolute blast. I skated like an absolute pro. I was able to keep up with K and S, who are total beauties when it comes to this. I probably ought to have faked bad skating in order to have the chance for a guy’s hand , but I felt totally independent and free on the ice, and I honestly didn’t want to give that up. Previously I had told M that I wasn’t really a decent skater, which I wasn’t up to this point, but by the middle of the skating session he was accusing me of lying. Thanks to our connections, nearly half of the Russian conference had made it’s way onto the ice along with us for S’s birthday party.

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 10.30.50 PM

Therefore we had a fantastic time. My old crushes from State College conference were there. D, however, appears to be an extreme player. Apparently he approached V about dating. She refused him. So this conference he was going around hanging with this pretty blonde chick. As for A, I saw him several times during conference, but unlike D (who managed to start a conversation with me) he didn’t do much then say, “Oh you guys are here” and run off. I had told him I wasn’t coming back before Valentine’s Day when the weather had been bad.

However, I have found a lovely new crush. Ilu is one of the three guys S was saving seats for. P and Geo and Ilu are friends. Although because both of us were adequately good skaters, we didn’t hold hands or even come close to it, we were so busy showing off to each other and everyone else, we did share several quick moments of conversation during our group chats. Also he caught my eye several times as he glared directly across 80 plus feet of flooring and well-dressed youth into my eyes. Honestly, one particular stare had me quickly glancing away. I honestly just couldn’t take those smoldering eyes.

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 10.24.26 PM

He’s really very good looking. Kind of like a brown-eyed version of Sean O’Donnel. I’m not at all sure whether he is interested in me or not, because he hasn’t made much of a move at all. There’s always the chance he is avoiding me because likes me. But it could also be because he isn’t interested at all, which is much more likely. I am, however, very glad that he also resides in State College. I might have the chance to see him there sometime, although I’m not at the big church often.

After all, Victor Hugo did say, “The first symptom of true love in a young man is timidity; in a girl it is boldness.” So maybe I’ll work on my boldness and he seems to be working on his timidity.

The next chance I will have to experience a weekend as lovely as this will be in April or so. Therefore, I am back to my strict regime of school-ballet-costume design intern- shopping- and general daily life.

-XOXO

NCA

Leave a Reply

